Wk1 – Art Experience – Plaster of My Hands – I tried

This week’s art project is a plaster casting. I’ve never done this before, so I was so curious before doing it! The Art Kit was sold out on campus, so I bought a bucket and Plaster of Paris powder from Lowes. Then I went to Kate Beach to do this project around 6pm yesterday, and I spent almost 2 hours there till the sun sets completely.

I set the sand mold of my left hand first, then mixed the plaster powder and water. I guess I should make the sand mold vertically instead of horizontally because I couldn’t pull all the plaster into my mold. 😦 Then I left it and waited to be dried for around 50 mins, I walked around on the beach and took some photos of sea birds’ footprints, my footprints, and sunsets. Because I couldn’t full fill the sand mold, I got a really ugly short-finger hand plaster. I think I failed, but I tried. I will make it again when I get chance, I like this project. 🙂

IMG_4181.JPG

Leave a Reply

